Free Lutheran Churches in South Africa


The following two churches are free Lutheran churches associated with the International Lutheran Council:

  1. Free Evangelical Lutheran Synod in South Africa (FELSiSA)
  2. FELSiSA is an independent Lutheran church, with German roots. It is a confessional Lutheran church with approximately 3000 members served by 16 ministers. Its 20 congregations are located in KwaZulu-Natal, Gauteng, Mpumalanga and the Western Cape. FELSiSA maintains close ties to the Selbständige evangelisch-lutherische Kirche (SELK) in Germany and the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod (LCMS) in the USA.

    FELSiSA has been active in South Africa for just over 100 years. It separated from the Hermannsburg Mission in 1892, when the Mission decided to rejoin the Hannovarian State Church.

    Contact: Bishop Dr. Dieter Reinstorf, Tel. +27-21-930-3734

  3. Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (LCSA)
  4. The LCSA developed from the work of the Lutheran Church Mission (Bleckmar Mission). It is associated with FELSiSA. It has around 20 000 members in 204 congregations and 51 parishes, served by 36 pastors.

    Contact: Bishop Dr. Wilhelm Weber, Tel. +27-12-344-2302, 790 Arcadia Street, Arcadia, Pretoria

Start | ELCSA | ELCSA(NT) | ELCSA(Cape) | LUCSA & UELCSA | Contact