Follow this link to the official webpage of ELCSA (NT)

The Evangelical Lutheran Church in South Africa (Natal-Transvaal) or ELCSA (NT) was formed in 1981 as a union of two historically South African-German churches:

Nowadays ELCSA (NT) has many non-German members. A few English congregations have been established, while most other congregations offer at least some English or Afrikaans services. A few years ago, the St Johannes congregation of Kelvin, a traditionally Scandinavian congregation, joined ELCSA (NT).

The congregations are scattered throughout the former provinces of Natal and Transvaal (hence the (NT) after the name). While the rural congregations are the older ones, the urban congregations are today as important in the life of the church.

Together with its sister churches ELCSA and ELCSA (Cape) the ELCSA (NT) is a member of the Lutheran Community of Southern Africa (LUCSA), the Lutheran World Federation (LWF) and the South African Council of Churches (SACC).

The church is divided into four circuits, viz. Northern Circuit, Central Circuit, Eastern Circuit and Southern Circuit.

Start | ELCSA | ELCSA(NT) | ELCSA(Cape) | LUCSA & UELCSA | Webmaster